Subnet Legibility Index · snapshot 2026-09-09 · rubric v1.0 Exploit Summit 2026 · Montreal ·

SN 4. Rank 7 of 32 by emission

Targon

4.7% of emission5 miners · 7 validatorsregistration 0.0005 TAOverified 2026-09-09

Targon is a decentralized compute network of trusted execution environments.

In their own words · targon.com
Explained from zero · compute · written 2026-09-10

SN4 Targon rents out computing machines by the hour, like a hotel whose rooms belong to strangers, with each room sealed so that not even the owner can see what the guest is doing inside.

The commodity, explained from zero

The room is a GPU, the graphics processor that does most AI computing. Targon lists three products: rentals (a GPU server a customer logs into), virtual machines, and Targon Virtual Machines, its own product. The last is the point of the subnet. A TVM runs inside a trusted execution environment, a locked box in the processor that encrypts memory and can prove to an outsider what ran inside, so the machine's owner cannot read the guest's data. Intel and Targon co-wrote a whitepaper on this, dated March 23, 2026.

Prices exist. The inventory API, which needs no login, quotes an H200 at $2.49 an hour in its example, and the live API returned $0.45 an hour for an RTX 4090 on September 9. The customer named on the site is a team doing "AI Training and Deployments". Whether anyone rents today is harder to see: the front page's counters for GPUs, uptime and utilization read zero to a fetcher, and every listed machine showed "Out of Stock" on the day of checking. A logo strip names OSS Capital, DCG, Google, Shopify and Bittensor without saying why.

Why it is on Bittensor at all

The mission page's claim is price: "a non-interruptible cloud experience at interruptible prices". Because supply can come from anyone with the right hardware, the whitepaper argues prices become "transparent, market-driven". The sealed room is what makes renting from strangers safe. The comparison breaks here: a hotel guest trusts the hotel, while a Targon guest trusts Intel's chip and a cryptographic proof, and the hotel itself never sees the guest's luggage. No number on the site compares Targon's price to a large cloud's.

How the work gets done

Miners (the room owners) install TargonOS, a signed operating system that wipes the machine, attests to the network on every boot, and re-attests roughly every 72 minutes. The subnet runs auctions: each names a target number of cards, a target price and a ceiling in US dollars per card per hour, and "while an auction is below its card target, every live card earns up to the payment cap". Validators (the judges) hold stake and set the weights that turn those rates into emission, the subnet's share of newly minted TAO; the docs describe the miner side in far more detail than the validator side. Emission not claimed by any auction is burned.

How you would know it works

The public inventory endpoint at api.targon.com/tha/v3/inventory returns live machines, specifications and hourly prices with no login. It is a price list, not a usage figure; the materials do not publish one.

What is missing

The chain contact devs@manifold.inc appears nowhere on the site or docs, which offer only a contact form and Discord. The Discord field on chain is empty. There is no status page (status.targon.com does not resolve), no SLA, and no stated response time. The miner docs give no scoring formula and no deregistration policy, and the registration cost is not stated (0.0005 TAO on chain today). The chain shows 5 active miners and 7 validators.

Go deeper

Sources for this explainer

Metaphor: a hotel of sealed rooms owned by strangers. Every claim is drawn from the evidence set or the subnet's own materials; "(inferred)" marks a conclusion rather than a quote. Corrections.

How we scored it

Four audiences, four questions each, scored on what a first-time reader can find in five minutes. Method in the rubric.

On-chain identity 5/7
subnet_name
Targon
github_repo
github.com
subnet_contact
devs@manifold.inc
subnet_url
targon.com
discord
not set
description
Incentivized Compute Marketplace powered by the Targon Virtual Machine (TVM).
additional
not set

Stakers and validators 3.0

Should I allocate here? · rank 18 of 32 for this audience

Q1What it is 4

Scale Workloads with High Speed GPU & CPUs for AI Training and Deployments

targon.comverifiedlive

with rentals, VMs and pay only for compute you use, hourly prices sit on the inventory page and public API, matches chain

Q2Who it is for 2

Powered By OSS Capital DCG Google Shopify Bittensor

targon.comverifiedlive

logo strip, GPU, uptime and utilization counters read 0 to a fetcher, stats page is JS rendered, every SKU Out of Stock, no dated usage figure

Q3How it resists gaming or fails 3
docs.targon.comverifiedlive

emissions paid per card up to a cap against auction targets, unallocated emissions burned, TargonOS attests on boot, written for miners, no anti gaming section, no failure modes

Q4Identity and documentation 3
docs.targon.comverifiedlive

identity 5 of 7 (discord and additional unset), github and url resolve, a validator setup page, chain contact devs@manifold.inc nowhere on the site, no staker or tokenomics page

Miners 3.3

Can I compete, and what wins? · rank 18 of 32 for this audience

Q1What it is 3

Mining on Targon runs on TargonOS, a signed, purpose-built operating system that provisions the machine end to end.

docs.targon.comverifiedlive

TDX GPU nodes for confidential VMs, no request or response spec

Q2Who it is for 3

All prices are in USD per hour per card, reported in cents

docs.targon.comverifiedlive

with H200 and B200 auction targets and min_cluster_size 8, targets page JS rendered, registration cost not stated (burn 0.0005 TAO)

Q3How it resists gaming or fails 3
docs.targon.comverifiedlive

per card rate settles toward the auction target and never exceeds max_price, attestation gates participation, no scoring formula, no immunity or deregistration policy

Q4Identity and documentation 4

TargonOS install guide plus config.json and docker compose steps, repo pushed 2026-08-23, no tagged releases or changelog, docs pages undated

Buyers and enterprises 3.5

Can I use this today? · rank 10 of 32 for this audience

Q1What it is 4

Query available compute resources, their specifications, pricing, and current availability. This endpoint does not require authentication.

docs.targon.comverifiedlive

Rentals and VMs via an API, every SKU Out of Stock today

Q2Who it is for 4

cost_per_hour

docs.targon.comverifiedlive

: 2.49 for an H200 in the example, the live API returns 0.45 per hour for an RTX 4090, customer type is AI training and deployment teams, no pricing page

Q3How it resists gaming or fails 2
targon.comverifiedlive

a contact form and Discord, no status page (status.targon.com does not resolve), no SLA, no response time, an api/health endpoint in the docs

Q4Identity and documentation 4
docs.targon.comverifiedlive

REST reference for workloads, volumes, inventory and tokens, chain contact devs@manifold.inc not on the site, the site offers a contact form only

Newcomers 4.0

What is this and why does it matter? · rank 5 of 32 for this audience

Q1What it is 3

Targon is a decentralized compute network of trusted execution environments.

targon.comverifiedlive

One sentence on the front page, TEE, TDX and confidential compute left unexplained, consistent with the chain description

Q2Who it is for 4

non-interruptible cloud experience at interruptible prices, without compromising on the security our clients depend on

targon.comverifiedlive

price and security set against centralized giants, no numbers

Q3How it resists gaming or fails 4
targon.comverifiedlive

Intel co authored whitepaper dated 03.23.2026 with a PDF, live inventory API with prices, front page counters read 0 to a fetcher, no benchmark of the network output

Q4Identity and documentation 5
targon.comverifiedlive

subnet_name Targon matches the site, description is a full sentence, url resolves, the mission page serves as about

Provenance

How this score came to be. Verified means the scorer fetched the page and the words are on it; inferred means concluded from code, absence, or a third party. The link badge is a separate automated check made before publication.

scored by agent c 2026-09-09, rubric v1.0merged 2026-09-09links verified 2026-09-09: 41 live, 0 unreachable, 1 manual

Something wrong? Corrections of fact are applied as they arrive during the window; score disputes are batched at its close. How to file one · GitHub issue · email.